Exporting comments in Trados Studio 2009?
Thread poster: Rick Janssen

Rick Janssen
Netherlands
Local time: 21:23
English to Dutch
+ ...
Sep 14, 2010

Hi,

I'm quite new to TRADOS 2009, and I was wondering if it's possible to export comments I added in the editor to a seperate file or to an extra column of the translated Excel file? I need to compile a Q&A file for my client, which should at least contain the source text, my translation and the comment for each string I have a question about.

Is it possible to do this automatically, or do I really have to copy each string individually from the editor?

Mihai Badea (X)  Identity Verified
Luxembourg
Member (2004)
English to Romanian
+ ...
Bilingual Preview Generator Sep 14, 2010

Hi Rick,

SDL offers a Trados add-on that might help: Bilingual Preview Generator . It requires Office 2007 or later to work, so in case you have Office 2007 or 2010 installed, you could give it a try. Unfortunately, several months after launch, it is still in beta stage, so it does not always work as expected. I
... See more
Hi Rick,

SDL offers a Trados add-on that might help: Bilingual Preview Generator . It requires Office 2007 or later to work, so in case you have Office 2007 or 2010 installed, you could give it a try. Unfortunately, several months after launch, it is still in beta stage, so it does not always work as expected. I couldn’t use it even if I had Office 2010 (beta) installed on my computer. A colleague reported here that the application didn’t process the files although he had Office 2007 on his computer.