Thread poster: Shakir Azeem

Shakir Azeem
India
Local time: 13:16
English to Tamil
+ ...
Oct 8, 2010

Hello,

I am a Tamil translator using an editor ("Kamban", extension is .kwp) that is not common. Is there a way to incorporate this into SDL Trados Studio or SDL Passalo? Or atleast, is there a way to 'add-on' a keyboard driver into Trados for a Romanised typing of Asian language (Tamil in my case)?

Let me add that I am a beginner in Trados.
What exactly needs to be done to install/use particular 'Asian-character' fonts, and toggle between the Asian & English?

I would be grateful if someone helps me go mainstream in Trados, by clearing away these initial cobwebs.

Thank you in advance

Direct link Reply with quote

Sushan Harshe
India
English to Hindi
+ ...
.kwp is not supported but you may try with .txt Oct 8, 2010

Hi Shakir,

At Kamban website they have below Q&A.

Q I purchased your Kamban 3.0 at Chennai on 11.3.2000. Being an author, I find that I cannot correct the text (after getting a KWP file saved in the Rich Text Format) in the Pagemaker. Without the facility to make corrections in the Pagemaker, it would be of little use for me if work on Kamban WP. Kindly help me out. - S. GunaSeelan
A KWP 3.0 has all the functionalities of Desktop publishing and there is no need to use external Word processor for typing. However if you do have to use in other Software, you still have to use KWP to edit it. This is not a problem with KWP. The fonts encoding are such that you cannot use standard keyboard to type Tamil letters. KWP has a built in driver which decodes keyboard input to output Tamil letters.