Error Message-SDL Trados Studio 2009
Thread poster: GiovannaHI
GiovannaHI
United States
Local time: 22:03
English to Chinese
+ ...
Oct 14, 2010

I have tried logging onto SDL Trados Studio 2009 and get the following message:

The system cannot find the file specified Exception from HRESULT 0*80070002.

I need advice.

Oh, I did not download it with download express.

Is this a download problem or a computer problem?

JH


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:03
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Would you please precise what do you mean with... Oct 14, 2010

I have tried logging onto SDL Trados Studio 2009 and get the following message:

What exactly are you trying to achieve?
Install the software? Start the software?


Direct link Reply with quote
 
GiovannaHI
United States
Local time: 22:03
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I am trying to use the software Oct 15, 2010

Jerzy Czopik wrote:

I have tried logging onto SDL Trados Studio 2009 and get the following message:

What exactly are you trying to achieve?
Install the software? Start the software?


I installed it and am trying to start it. Please help me with this, as I really want to use this and have jumped through hoops to acquire this software. I asked a computer guy, who thinks I need to a. redowload it or reinstall it.

Thanks.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:03
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Did the installation work properly? Oct 15, 2010

Your operating system please.
I need full information about exactly what you have there.
What I see here is only an empty space for writing the text and really only pieces of information from you.

When posting about a CAT tool or other software program, include the product name, version, your operating system, and any other relevant details will avoid confusion and allow you to get or give better assistance.

This is the minimum information I need.
Then go to Control Panel, chose Java, go to the tab Java, press the button Show and tell me exactly ALL versions listed there. Then go to Add/remove programs and check, which versions of Microsoft .NET framework are installed.

Do you have Trados 2007 installed? Any other CAT tools there? Games?


Direct link Reply with quote
 
GiovannaHI
United States
Local time: 22:03
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
My Operating System Oct 15, 2010

Jerzy Czopik wrote:

Your operating system please.
I need full information about exactly what you have there.
What I see here is only an empty space for writing the text and really only pieces of information from you.

When posting about a CAT tool or other software program, include the product name, version, your operating system, and any other relevant details will avoid confusion and allow you to get or give better assistance.

This is the minimum information I need.
Then go to Control Panel, chose Java, go to the tab Java, press the button Show and tell me exactly ALL versions listed there. Then go to Add/remove programs and check, which versions of Microsoft .NET framework are installed.

Do you have Trados 2007 installed? Any other CAT tools there? Games?


I have Windows XP Professional.

I installed trados 2007 last night and it STILL isn't working.

Ok, Java...1.6.0_01
1.6.0_14

Microsoft Net
2.0 SP2
3.0 SP2
3.5 SP1

Thanks.


[Edited at 2010-10-15 17:57 GMT]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:03
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Now we have a complete picture Oct 16, 2010

Could you please delete those files:
C:\documents and settings\user_name\SDL\SDL Trados Studio\9.1.0.0\BaseSettings.xml
C:\documents and settings\user_name\SDL\SDL Trados Studio\9.1.0.0\UserSettings.xml

If you don't have them, then something else is disturbing Studio and I will need to evaluate further on that.


Direct link Reply with quote
 
GiovannaHI
United States
Local time: 22:03
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Confused Oct 16, 2010

Jerzy Czopik wrote:

Could you please delete those files:
C:\documents and settings\user_name\SDL\SDL Trados Studio\9.1.0.0\BaseSettings.xml
C:\documents and settings\user_name\SDL\SDL Trados Studio\9.1.0.0\UserSettings.xml

If you don't have them, then something else is disturbing Studio and I will need to evaluate further on that.


Ok, I am trying...but what kind of file am I looking for? I am searching and it is taking forever....


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:03
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
You do not need to search for the files Oct 17, 2010

You are looking for exactly those two files I mentioned above, with a complete path.
Maybe you are not showing all files in Windows (default), so please read this one http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/win_fcab_show_file_extensions.mspx?mfr=true and enable the view of hidden and system files.


Direct link Reply with quote
 
GiovannaHI
United States
Local time: 22:03
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Help!! I am running out of patience Oct 18, 2010

Ok, I am trying to activate this stuff and am getting the following message:


Could not contact activation server (Error code 50003)

I contacted two computer specialists and they say that it is on THEIR end, not mine. I want this software up and running and am running out of patience.

[Edited at 2010-10-18 07:01 GMT]


Direct link Reply with quote
 
GiovannaHI
United States
Local time: 22:03
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Help Oct 18, 2010

Jerzy Czopik wrote:

Could you please delete those files:
C:\documents and settings\user_name\SDL\SDL Trados Studio\9.1.0.0\BaseSettings.xml
C:\documents and settings\user_name\SDL\SDL Trados Studio\9.1.0.0\UserSettings.xml

If you don't have them, then something else is disturbing Studio and I will need to evaluate further on that.


Ok, how do I find these two files?

Oh, is there a phone number where I could call these people?

They keep directing me to links and I have spent so much time on the computer, I feel like I'm losing my mind.

[Edited at 2010-10-18 08:20 GMT]


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Walter Blaser  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 05:03
French to German
+ ...
It is difficult to help with such confusing information provided Oct 18, 2010

Dear Giovanna

I jumped in to this post in order to try helping you out. However reading through your messages, I must confess that I am not able to really understand what your problem is.

In the beginning you did not clearly state whether the error you received was when you tried to install the software or when you tried to use it. You did not clearly answer this question and also did not say when this error message appeared. Please understand that statements such as "when I tried to log in" or "when I want to use it" do not mean anything to us.

Now, reading your last post where you explain that you don't manage to activate your software, I am even more confused because I ask myself what you have done before if you only try to activate the software now.

I still do not know under which circumstances the error message 'The system cannot find the file specified Exception from HRESULT 0*80070002' appeared.

Oh, is there a phone number where I could call these people?

Yes, you will get it when you sign a support agreement.

Walter


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:03
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Please use talisma.sdl.com Oct 18, 2010

GiovannaHI wrote:

Ok, I am trying to activate this stuff and am getting the following message:


Could not contact activation server (Error code 50003)

I contacted two computer specialists and they say that it is on THEIR end, not mine. I want this software up and running and am running out of patience.

[Edited at 2010-10-18 07:01 GMT]


This is an activation error. To contact SDL and get help please go to http://talisma.sdl.com
Click on "Solution finder" on the top row.
On the left chose "Licensing problem" and select "I get an error message".
On the next screen chose option 4 "Could not contact...", click next and fill out the request.


Direct link Reply with quote
 
GiovannaHI
United States
Local time: 22:03
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Still having problems Oct 18, 2010

Jerzy Czopik wrote:

GiovannaHI wrote:

Ok, I am trying to activate this stuff and am getting the following message:


Could not contact activation server (Error code 50003)

I contacted two computer specialists and they say that it is on THEIR end, not mine. I want this software up and running and am running out of patience.

[Edited at 2010-10-18 07:01 GMT]


This is an activation error. To contact SDL and get help please go to http://talisma.sdl.com
Click on "Solution finder" on the top row.
On the left chose "Licensing problem" and select "I get an error message".
On the next screen chose option 4 "Could not contact...", click next and fill out the request.


I did that and turned off my firewall, but am getting the same result. Should I just uninstall and reinstall my software? Is there a way to tell if it has been corrupted?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:03
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Sorry, I do not know anymore Oct 18, 2010

I have an active firewall here and on all my other computers and it has still worked.
Maybe you try another solution ways there.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:03
English
Have you tried to contact Support? Oct 19, 2010

Hello Giovanna,

Have you tried to raise a support request as Jerzy suggested? I can't check, or raise one for you, because I don't know who you are and we have quite a few users called Giovanna.

Let me know if you need help with this because Support will be able to help you out with this problem?

Regards

Paul


Direct link Reply with quote
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Error Message-SDL Trados Studio 2009

Advanced search







PDF Translation - the Easy Way
TransPDF converts your PDFs to XLIFF ready for professional translation.

TransPDF converts your PDFs to XLIFF ready for professional translation. It also puts your translations back into the PDF to make new PDFs. Quicker and more accurate than hand-editing PDF. Includes free use of Infix PDF Editor with your translated PDFs.

More info »
TM-Town
Manage your TMs and Terms ... and boost your translation business

Are you ready for something fresh in the industry? TM-Town is a unique new site for you -- the freelance translator -- to store, manage and share translation memories (TMs) and glossaries...and potentially meet new clients on the basis of your prior work.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search