Multiterm does not open
Thread poster: msw22
msw22
Local time: 15:16
English to German
Oct 18, 2010

Hello
I am a student currently enrolled in a course on CAT tools and a newbie to the Trados software. For the purposes of my course I was required to install SDL Trados 2007 Suite, SDL Trados Studio 2009 Freelance Plus and SDL-Multiterm 2009 Desktop SP2. I managed to align previously translated documents with WinAlign and was also able to create a translation memory, but cannot open Multiterm to create a term base. Whenever I click on the Terminology Management button in Studio, I get the following error message: “root element is missing”.
I uninstalled and reinstalled Multiterm, but the application will still not open.
Any suggestions on how this problem can be solved would be greatly appreciated.
MSW

Direct link Reply with quote

Walter Blaser  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 16:16
French to German
+ ...
Can you launch Multiterm from Start - All Programs? Oct 18, 2010

The button 'Terminology Management' in Studio is just a link that triggers the launching of the Multiterm application.

I suggest you try to launch Multiterm directly from the All Programs folder. This will tell us whether Multiterm is not properly installed or just the link is broken.

If you can launch it directly, simply forget about the button in Studio. If you cannot, I suggest that you run a repair of the Multiterm installation.

Walter

msw22
English to German
TOPIC STARTER
Still cannot launch Multiterm Oct 18, 2010

Dear Walter
Thanks so much for your fast reply. I tried to launch Multiterm directly from the All Programs folder. Unfortunately, I still get the same error message. How do I run a repair of the Multiterm installation?
Miriam

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Please try the Side-by-Side tools Oct 18, 2010

This should be installed along with your Multiterm and Trados.
First launch the "Activate MT 2009" task.