How to import Wordfast TM into Studio SP3?
Thread poster: Peggy Maeyer
Peggy Maeyer  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 17:11
English to German
Oct 25, 2010

Dear colleagues,

I am totally new to Trados but am considering to buy it now - so far I've been working with Wordfast (Classic and Pro). I've downloaded the Trados Studio SP3 trial version to get a first impression of the tool.

My problem: In order to be able to try out and work efficiently with the trial version, I would like to import my Wordfast TM into Trados. I tried to open a WF TM in Studio but this only lead to an error message, something along the lines of "this TM cannot be opened because Trados 2007 is not running on your system".

Which steps do I have to follow to import a WF TM into Trados? Or does this error message
mean that it is not possible at all to use WF TMs in Trados Studio SP3? Would it then be better for me to buy Trados 2007 first and then upgrade to Studio later? Or is there a workaround for this problem?

As I said, I am totally new to Trados and have no experience with exchanging TMs between different CAT tools either, so I kind of assume this problem might be not a problem at all for experienced users ...

Any help is greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Peggy

Direct link Reply with quote

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 22:11
Member (2004)
English to Thai
+ ...
TMX format Oct 25, 2010

TMX is the industrial standard for TM you can import to Studio SP3. Although WF's *.txt format is same as Trados' *.txt format, the TM data structure are different. You need to export WF TM as TMX format to import to SP3.

By the way, if you cannot see TMX format option at SP3, your SP3 may be erroneous (some users claim about this on their latest update of Trados Studio SP3.)

Soonthon Lupkitaro

Peggy Maeyer  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Oct 25, 2010

Dear Soonthon Lupkitaro,