Create a TM in SDL Trados Studio 2009 from a SDLXLIFF file?
Thread poster: SandraV

SandraV  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 02:42
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 11, 2010

Hi,

I am new at Trados Studio 2009. I opened a document and started to translate the resulting SDLXLIFF file, but I am not sure if this has created a TM or if I had skipped an important step in order to create the TM. If this is so, is it possible to create the TM after I have started translating the SDLXLIFF file? Should I finish the translation and then create the TM? Should I have created a TM before starting translating?
I must have a TM in order to translate other files related to this job later.
I have been watching some trutorials, but I'm afraid I don't understand. Please Help me!!

Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Walter Blaser  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 09:42
French to German
+ ...
You need to assign a TM when you start translating Nov 11, 2010

It is obvious that you need to assign a TM to your translation job before you start translating otherwise all the sentences (segments) will not be written into your TM and you will also not get any matches from the TM while translating.

When you click on "Open Document" in Studio, the first thing it shows you is a window where you can select/check the language pair. On this window, you can select (by clicking on 'Add') the TM(s) you want to use.

If you have already started translating, no problem: you can still go to this window by clicking on the button "Project Settings", assigning your TM and then go back to the segments you translated and simply confirm them by hitting CTRL-ENTER.

It is quite difficult to start using a new software without adequate initial training, so I suggest that you get some additional training before you start using this comprehensive software.

Walter

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English
Import it is another way Nov 11, 2010

Hi Sandra,