Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Termbase problem with SDL Trados Studio 2009 SP3
Thread poster: Svetlana Ryjikh

Svetlana Ryjikh
Local time: 17:09
Russian to English
+ ...
Nov 14, 2010

Dear Forum Members,
I can run Multiterm 2009, but can neither create a local termbase nor open one.
Whenever I try to run the Termbase Wizard to create a termbase, it finishes with an error message saying: error in getting COM class fabric for component with CLSID {5EE7FC2F-BE14-4979-AF01-76271D7EE291}, error 800736b1
Even the samples provided in the folder SDL MultiTerm with the installation cannot be opened (error message: A connection to SDL Multiterm Server unknown could not be established. Please check you connection settings.) If I try opening the samples right from the folder SDL MultiTerm it ends up with the same error message: error in getting COM class fabric for component with CLSID {5EE7FC2F-BE14-4979-AF01-76271D7EE291}, error 800736b1
Everything worked fine before upgrading to SP3 version.
Thank you very much in advance for any ideas on how I could try to fix it!!!


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:09
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
After opening MT please check if any servers are entered Nov 14, 2010

Press CTRL+SHIFT+E and remove any server you may find there.

As for the other issue: please locate the Side by Side tools in the Multiterm program group and start with Activating MT 2009. If this does not help use Repari MT 2009.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Svetlana Ryjikh
Local time: 17:09
Russian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks, I tried all you said, but it did not help. Nov 14, 2010

Thank you so much for your prompt reply! When I pressed CTRL+SHIFT+E, there was nothing to remove, since no server was specified therein. When I tried to run the Activate MT 2009 task, it ended up with the following message: Activating SDL MultiTerm 2009 failed. Problem executing command: C:\Windows\System32\regsvr32.exe /s "C:\Program Files\Common Files\SDL\MultiTerm8\MultiTermMtServer\MultiTermMtServer.dll"
The file can't be found.
The Repair MT also failed and produced three error-messages:
Problem executing command: C:\Windows\System32\regsvr32.exe /u /s "C:\Program Files\Common Files\SDL\MultiTerm8\MultiTermMtServer\MultiTermMtServer.dll"
The file can't be found.
Problem executing command: C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe /f {A1CC3003-50E3-4EBA-965A-377250B576BF} /l*v "C:\Program Files\SDL\SDL MultiTerm\MultiTermSideBySide\Reinstalling 2009 core.log"
Problem executing command: C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe /f {6416EEE2-6332-45FC-B63B-8E14F8A73991} /l*v "C:\Program Files\SDL\SDL MultiTerm\MultiTermSideBySide\Reinstalling Studio 2009.log"
What else can I do? Shall I try to uninstall the whole thing and reinstall it all over again? Should I return my license first or it’s not required if I uninstall just MT, but keep all the rest SDL progs on my PC ?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:09
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Please try to reinstall only MT without deinstalling anything first Nov 14, 2010

Just run the installer again, maybe that will help.
If not, I must admit that we do have a serious problem here.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Walter Blaser  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 12:09
French to German
+ ...
Uninstall and reinstall Nov 14, 2010

Svetlana Ryjikh wrote:

Thank you so much for your prompt reply! When I pressed CTRL+SHIFT+E, there was nothing to remove, since no server was specified therein. When I tried to run the Activate MT 2009 task, it ended up with the following message: Activating SDL MultiTerm 2009 failed. Problem executing command: C:\Windows\System32\regsvr32.exe /s "C:\Program Files\Common Files\SDL\MultiTerm8\MultiTermMtServer\MultiTermMtServer.dll"
The file can't be found.
The Repair MT also failed and produced three error-messages:
Problem executing command: C:\Windows\System32\regsvr32.exe /u /s "C:\Program Files\Common Files\SDL\MultiTerm8\MultiTermMtServer\MultiTermMtServer.dll"
The file can't be found.
Problem executing command: C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe /f {A1CC3003-50E3-4EBA-965A-377250B576BF} /l*v "C:\Program Files\SDL\SDL MultiTerm\MultiTermSideBySide\Reinstalling 2009 core.log"
Problem executing command: C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe /f {6416EEE2-6332-45FC-B63B-8E14F8A73991} /l*v "C:\Program Files\SDL\SDL MultiTerm\MultiTermSideBySide\Reinstalling Studio 2009.log"
What else can I do? Shall I try to uninstall the whole thing and reinstall it all over again? Should I return my license first or it’s not required if I uninstall just MT, but keep all the rest SDL progs on my PC ?


Svetlana

Looking at your error messages, I suggest that you completely uninstall all Multiterm components from the Control Panel, all components that have 'Multiterm' in their name, but not Studio.
Then reinstall Multiterm using the latest Installer (SP3 = build 166). Once you have done this, apply the "Cumulative Updates" that have been released last Friday,
http://kb.sdl.com/article.aspx?article=3390&p=1
http://kb.sdl.com/article.aspx?article=3397&p=1
Make sure you run the installers with administrative rights.
This should solve your problem.

Walter


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Svetlana Ryjikh
Local time: 17:09
Russian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you, but it did not help either. Nov 14, 2010

Thanks for your help so much! You are the only one who tried to answer my question so far. I tried to reinstall it without deinstalling and at the end got a message that reinstallation went out successful. But now I get the following error message even before I run MT: error in getting COM class fabric for component with CLSID {218607FO-58OD-43A4-B75E-AB028624D9D880040154}, error 80040154. And all the rest problems still remain. In addition, now every time I open and close MS Word I get the following error messages: “Compile error in hidden module: AutoExec” and “Compile error in hidden module: MTMultiTermMenu”, respectively.
I’ve made a bunch of screenshots already. I'm going to contact the firm in Saint-Petersburg, Russia first thing tomorrow morning, where I bought the license. Definitely, I can not handle it myself.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Svetlana Ryjikh
Local time: 17:09
Russian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you, Sir! I'm going to follow your advice. Nov 14, 2010

I'll follow your advice and let you know later, whether I'm successful.

Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:09
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Follow Walter's advice Nov 14, 2010

However, after having uninstalled all the stuff he suggests please check also, which Java versions are installed on your system. Leave JUST 1.5.0_10 and 1.6.0_14, uninstall everything else.
Then run regedit and rename the following keys:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SDL\MultiTerm8 to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SDL\_MultiTerm8
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Trados\MultiTerm to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Trados\_MultiTerm

Now reinstall the software.
When installing the patch, please be sure to download and install the C++ components mentioned there.


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Svetlana Ryjikh
Local time: 17:09
Russian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
The error is still there Nov 14, 2010

I got your answer about Java version checking a bit later, after I’d already started the reinstallation. The error is still there. The good thing is that now I don't have error-messages every time I open/close MS Word. I’m going to check on Java versions, rename files in regedit and reinstall Multiterm once again tomorrow night, when I get home from work. I’ll let you guys know whether I’m successful and what the help-desk in Saint-Petersburg will advise me, if I get any reply at all. Now I feel really exhausted. But you guys are great! Thank you both.

Direct link Reply with quote
 

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:09
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Word is not connected to Multiterm Nov 14, 2010

There is just a Word template installed - I would completly remove it unless you really MUSt use Word as a CAT tool, which is nowadays simply ridiculous.
Regarding your error messages I must unfortunately admit, that beside removing all applications from SDL and Java VMs no solution appears to me.
Did you try restoring Windows to a date before you installed the upgrade?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Svetlana Ryjikh
Local time: 17:09
Russian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I've got in touch with Tra-service support team Nov 15, 2010

Today, I’ve got in touch with the firm in Saint-Petersburg where I bought SDL license. As they replied me via e-mail, my case had been forwarded to SDL specialists. I’m going to wait for any answer for a couple of days before starting complete reinstallation. Maybe, they will come up with another solution. If they don't, I have two options, as far as I see it: reinstall it on my PC and if it does not run properly, try reinstalling it on another PC. If it's ok there, the problem is with my computer and SDL-MT-soft is fine. I'll write about it, as soon as I get to the end of it, so that it might help somebody else later. Thank you so much for your help!

Direct link Reply with quote
 

Liselotte K. de Hennig  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 08:09
Spanish to German
+ ...
Same problem here after updating SDL MultiTerm 2009 SP3 Nov 15, 2010

After updating I cannot open my termbases any more. I get always the message:
"A connection to SDL MultiTerm Server unknown could not be established.
Please check your connection settings."

I did not enter any servers ever and the "Servers..." window is empty.

My PC runs under Windows XP.

Hopefully the answer Svetlana gets will help me too.

Kind regards
Liselotte


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Stanislav Pokorny  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 12:09
English to Czech
+ ...
Server vs. Local Nov 15, 2010

Liselotte K. de Hennig wrote:

After updating I cannot open my termbases any more. I get always the message:
"A connection to SDL MultiTerm Server unknown could not be established.
Please check your connection settings."



Hello Liselotte,
are you sure you are trying to open a local termbase and not a server-based one?


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Walter Blaser  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 12:09
French to German
+ ...
What termbases do you want to access? Nov 15, 2010

Which termbases did you use before you updated? Local ones or server-based ones?

If you connected to server-based termbases on a Multiterm Server of your customer, you have to make sure that your customer also upgraded his server to SP3, otherwise you will not be able to connect anymore. For server-based termbases and TMs, the client and the server MUST be on exactly the same level because the communication protocol has been changed.

This means that you have to make sure that your customer also has upgraded his server to SP3. If he has not done so yet and does not intend to do so very soon, you will need to revert back to SP2 in order to be able to connect to his server.

Should you however use local termbases only, go to 'File - Servers' and delete any server connection you have there.

Walter


Direct link Reply with quote
 

Liselotte K. de Hennig  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 08:09
Spanish to German
+ ...
My local termbases Nov 15, 2010

I am really trying to open only my local termbases the same way I always did. I did not use server based termbases ever. The MultiTerm has no Files - Servers but Termbase - Servers... (Ctrl + Shift + E). The window that opens, called "Servers..." is empty.

Thanks a lot for trying to help me.

Kind regards
Liselotte


Direct link Reply with quote
 
Pages in topic:   [1 2] >


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Termbase problem with SDL Trados Studio 2009 SP3

Advanced search







Wordfast Pro
Translation Memory Software for Any Platform

Exclusive discount for ProZ.com users! Save over 13% when purchasing Wordfast Pro through ProZ.com. Wordfast is the world's #1 provider of platform-independent Translation Memory software. Consistently ranked the most user-friendly and highest value

More info »
SDL MultiTerm 2017
Guarantee a unified, consistent and high-quality translation with terminology software by the industry leaders.

SDL MultiTerm 2017 allows translators to create one central location to store and manage multilingual terminology, and with SDL MultiTerm Extract 2017 you can automatically create term lists from your existing documentation to save time.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search