Updating the main TM (Trados Studio 2009 SP2)
Thread poster: Yana Krasovska
Yana Krasovska
English to Russian
+ ...
Dec 8, 2010

Dear colleagues, need some help with a TM issue, as I'm new to this Trados version.
The problem is as follows:
i created a project and in the process of creating it, made a new TM in the folder where i keep all my TMs - that is, outside the project folder.

in the process of translation i kept updating the TM (and it worked). However, after i finished the project and went to check the TM i created in the folder where i keep all my TMs, i was surprised to see the TM i created was empty!
Instead, the program created another TM in the project folder, with the name of the project, and this TM was updated.

I meant to create a dedicated TM to use it in many similar projects... Question: what did i do wrong?

Thanks a lot!

Direct link Reply with quote

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:19
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Everything allright Dec 8, 2010

Just use the batch task "Update main Translation Memory" from Project menu.
This bvehavior is pretty normal and desired.
After you finish a project use the Finalize batch task and you will always have your main TM updated.

Yana Krasovska
English to Russian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
i see now! Dec 8, 2010

Jerzy Czopik wrote:

Just use the batch task "Update main Translation Memory" from Project menu.
This bvehavior is pretty normal and desired.
After you finish a project use the Finalize batch task and you will always have your main TM updated.

i must have misunderstood the relevant Help topic on TMs, i remembered that a TM is updated automatically after a translated segment is confirmed, but it was obviously applicable to a Project TM, not the Main TM.

Thanks a lot for making this clear for me!

FarkasAndras
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Desires Dec 8, 2010

Jerzy Czopik wrote:

This behavior is pretty normal and desired.