Thread poster: Nico Wagner
Nico Wagner  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 13:33
Portuguese to German
+ ...
Dec 14, 2010

Hi fellow translators,

this is not an actual support request, I just need to blow off some steam and check if it's me who is too stupid to handle Trados or if other people have/had the same problems...

I chose to buy a Trados starter license about a month ago, and so far I've definitely lost far more time trying to get licensing issues fixed and the program running than it will save me over the next couple of weeks, maybe even months.

To give you some background, I work as a Software developer for a living and consider my computer knowledge above average, and don't get stuck easily on basic windows / application installation tasks.

To begin, the registration code sent to me did not work for some reason. -> ~ 1h trying everything possible before contacting customer support.

Tried to contact customer support via the general support request form (without being logged into my Trados account)

Received response asking me to use the proper form (which is hidden behind several "have you tried this/that"-forms), which I don't consider very customer-friendly, considering the fact that my initial request had all the information that was needed to be processed by customer support. Instead, they could just have forwarded my request to the correct support area.

Sent request via the correct form, received a response within 1 day notifying me that my license was converted to registration file, which I then imported and finally got started working.

Time lost on registration so far: ~3-4h and 2*1 day waiting for support response.