Running Trados simultaneously on 2 computers
Thread poster: William Pairman

William Pairman  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:49
Member (2005)
Spanish to English
Jan 20, 2011

I have Trados 2007 on my main desktop PC and my laptop. Now that my wife is learning to use the programme I find it can't run on 2 computers at the same time

Is there any way round this (ie 2007 on one and 2009 on another - being in the comfort zone with 2007 I still havent got around to activating my 2009 license) or do you have to buy another licence or something?

If so, how much is that likely to cost?

Direct link Reply with quote

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
I am not an expert in licensing questions Jan 20, 2011

but from what I know there is no single freelance or even professional license allowing you to run the product simultaneuosly on two computers, when you own just one license.
However, with the combination of Trados 2007 and 2009 this may differ. I think the safest way to get a reliable and correct answer is to contact a sales representative of SDL, if you cannot find sufficient information in your EULA.

Mickey Argaman  Identity Verified
Israel
Member (2006)
English to Hebrew
+ ...
Running Trados simultaneously on 2 computers Jan 20, 2011

If you run both versions on the same network:
Try to change the name of the workgroup on the network.

In Vista, go to: Control Panel > System > Change setrtings (workgroup) > change... > and change the workgroup name.
That might solve the problem.

If you use the software by 2 users, I recommend you to buy a second license (only 515 Euro).

Mickey

tergum-tech
technical translation
תרגום-טק
תרגום טכני
תרגום
תרגום לעברית
תרגום טכני

Spain
Member (2005)
Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER
bargain! Jan 20, 2011

only 515 Euro

Hahaha, "only" indeed!

Thanks for the suggestion tho

Spain
Member (2005)
Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER
Excellent! Jan 20, 2011