Trados 2009: any alternative function other than winalign?
Thread poster: sls17199

sls17199
Local time: 18:53
Feb 28, 2011

Hi I am a newbie to Trados and I got a copy of Trados 2009 installed in my computer. But I want to inser my previously translated documents into a TM for future use. But the 2009 studio did not come with Winalign since I didn't have 2007. Any other means to do that without the need to install 2007?

Direct link Reply with quote

Walter Blaser  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 11:53
French to German
+ ...
Installing the 2007 version is a breeze Mar 1, 2011

You have two choices:

1. Install the 2007 version so that you can use WinAlign. This is the easiest and cheapest solution.

2. Use a different product, such as AlignFactory. If you do not have to many documents to align, you may also use Terminotix free online alignment offer at www.youalign.com.

Walter

IrimiConsulting  Identity Verified
Sweden
Member (2006)
English to Swedish
+ ...
Align using SDLx Mar 1, 2011

Strange. I didn't have any Trados version when I bought Studio 2009 Freelance, and I received WinAlign and Trados TWB 2007 with my purchase.

SDLx 2007 is also included in Studio 2009. I haven't tried the alignment function in SDLx, but I can at least see that the list of supported file formats is significantly longer than in WinAlign. Try that before buying something else.

[Edited at 2011-03-01 09:36 GMT]

Johanna Liljenzin  Identity Verified
Sweden
Member (2009)
Swedish to English
+ ...
LF Aligner Mar 1, 2011

Hi!

I use the free tool LF Aligner, which can be downloaded from http://sourceforge.net/search/?q=lf%20aligner.