SDL Trados 2009 "Index was out of range..." issue
Thread poster: Armen Hovhannisyan

Armen Hovhannisyan  Identity Verified
United States
English to Armenian
+ ...
Mar 19, 2011

Dear SDL Trados support,

I am new to SDL Trados 2009, and I am going through a self-training using "SDL Trados Studio Translating and Reviewing Documents Quick Start Guide".
On page 12 of the manual, point 5 says:
"5. On the Termbases page, you can select SDL MultiTerm termbases. Select the
sample termbase file, Printer.sdltb.
…My Documents\SDL Trados Studio\Projects\Samples\SampleProject\
Termbase\Printer.sdltb"
The problem is that when I try to open this termbase (Printer.sdltb), an error message is displayed. The error message says:
"Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection. Parameter name: index".
Consequently, when I follow the instructions of the "Quick Start Guide", I cannot use the termbase.
To solve this issue, I went trough forums and SDL knowledge base, but could not find a viable solution anywhere.
Could you please advise how can I make "Printer.sdltb" termbase work as expected? I suppose this should be a pretty easy issue, as this is a file provided by SDL with the installation package. I think this solution might be helpful to solve such issues in the future.
Thank you in advance.

Direct link Reply with quote

United States
English to Armenian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I found a workaround to the issue mentioned earlier Mar 19, 2011

I would like to let you know that I found a workaround to this issue, although I am not quite sure what was the source of the issue.
I completed project settings and closed SDL Trados 2009. When I opened it, the error message I mentioned in my earlier post was gone. Also, when I opened a single file, I found out that the termbase (Printer.sdltb) was finally connected.
Again, I am not sure what was the source of the problem.
At this point I would say the problem is solved. Thank you for your time.

Alex Lilo