How to view TTX file?
Thread poster: Daina Jauntirans

Daina Jauntirans  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:35
German to English
+ ...
Mar 23, 2011

Hi,

I am a Wordfast Classic and Pro user trying to work on a Trados project for a client. The translation is software-related, and client has told me that the segments in the TTX file provided contain attributes that tell me whether the segment is from the UI or from the help files. This is important information for the translation. However, we have determined that WFPro is stripping these attributes out - I cannot see them while translating the segments in WFPro.

Is there any other way I could view this information? Maybe by just opening the TTX file in a program other than WF so that I can see the attributes as I go along?

Thanks for any help you can offer,
Daina

Riccardo Schiaffino  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:35
Member (2003)
English to Italian
+ ...
A good example why Mar 23, 2011

This is a good example of why translation companies are often justified in requesting that translators use a specific program to do the job.

German to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I agree they're justified in requiring certain tools, Mar 23, 2011

but in this case, my client is OK with my tool and is working with me to find workarounds.

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 22:35
Member (2003)
German to Dutch
+ ...
Wordfast workaround Mar 23, 2011

Hi Daina,

You drop the TTX file on the WFP title bar to create a TXML file. That's the file you're going to translate with WFP. You make a copy of the TXML file and drop that file on the title bar of Word. Word will present you with the XML data view. Now you start a WFC session. Click OK when Wordfast observes that it's a TXML file that needs tagging. Then Wordfast asks whether you want to convert the file to a segmented DOC file. Click Cancel! Wordfast will tag the file anyway and you'll be able to look under the hood of the file.