Thread poster: Rodna Ruskovska

Rodna Ruskovska  Identity Verified
Macedonia (FYROM)
Local time: 05:42
Macedonian to English
+ ...
Mar 23, 2011

Hi,

I was trying to translate a word file using a TM, some of the segments were normal, readable, but other were not - some strange symbols appeared.

Example:
3D Режим и 3D Слики .................................................. 4
Ïğèêëó÷óâàoeå íà ñèñòåì çà òåëåâèçèñêà äèñòğèáóöè¼à (êàáåëñêà Ò èòí.) ïğåêó ò¼óíåğîò 4
Íîòèôèêàöè¼à çà ëèöåíöà (îïöèîíî) ................................. 4
ÏÎÒÂĞÄÀ ÇÀ ÇÀØÒÈÒÅÍ ÇÍÀÊ ........................................ 4

What could be the problem?

Thank you very much in advance!

Rodna

Wendy Cummings  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:42
Member (2006)
Spanish to English
+ ...
i'm no expert Mar 23, 2011

but it looks like the font or encoding settings have been changed. It seems your source language is Russian, and if my browser's encoding is set wrong, then those symbols are how it displays cyrillic.

Macedonia (FYROM)
Macedonian to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Source language English, some segments OK Mar 23, 2011

The source language is English,

The example shows how I see the document when I use the TM.

I see some segments correctly (3D Режим и 3D Слики).

And some, or most, not (Ïğèêëó÷óâàoeå íà ñèñòåì çà òåëåâèçèñêà äèñòğèáóöè¼à (êàáåëñêà Ò èòí.) ïğåêó ò¼óíåğîò 4
Íîòèôèêàöè¼à çà ëèöåíöà (îïöèîíî) ................................. 4
ÏÎÒÂĞÄÀ ÇÀ ÇÀØÒÈÒÅÍ ÇÍÀÊ ........................................ 4)

Where is the fault, I wonder?

Thanks!

Rodna

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Language and formatting in Word Mar 23, 2011

Switch do TagEditor or SDL Trados Studio 2009.
If you do not want to, you will have to correct Word formatting and language settings. This may solve the problem, however it may also require hours of work and good knowledge in Word formatting and style usage.