Thread poster: Annie Xystouris
Annie Xystouris
Annie Xystouris  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 18:15
English to Greek
+ ...
Mar 23, 2011

I apologize if this has been a asked before but I browsed through the forum and didn't find an answer. It's my first time translating an excel file, and I get the following message: "unable to open excel file: it may be password protected". First of all, are excel files compatible with Trados ? (2009) And secondly, any idea how to solve this so I can translate the file?

Thank you very much.

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 19:15
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Is the file not pwd protected? Mar 23, 2011

Studio is compatible with Excel 2000-2010.
If the file is not pwd protected, but you keep geting this message, save the Excel file in another Excel format available, i.e. E2003 instead of E2007 or vice versa. Then try again.

Shannon Goyette
Shannon Goyette  Identity Verified
United States
Italian to English
I'm having the same problem Mar 24, 2011

I am actually having this same exact problem. I've asked the client if the file is password protected. (I'm waiting on the answer) It doesn't appear to be, but the way it is set up in Excel is unfortunately not very clear.

Jerzy, I've tried your suggestion of changing the file to a different Excel format. This also doesn't appear to work, as I get the same "file may be password protected" message.

The file was originally supposed to be done in TagEditor, but it had i
... See more
I am actually having this same exact problem. I've asked the client if the file is password protected. (I'm waiting on the answer) It doesn't appear to be, but the way it is set up in Excel is unfortunately not very clear.

Jerzy, I've tried your suggestion of changing the file to a different Excel format. This also doesn't appear to work, as I get the same "file may be password protected" message.