Thread poster: Kate White

Kate White
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:54
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 5, 2011

Dear all,

I am a novice at Trados 2007 and I am doing a large project in it at the moment and required to produce the bilingual file. I delivered the first part the other day and my client commented that the editor had asked that I pay more attention to the format. As far as I know, I left the format the way it was originally so now I am wondering if it is something to do with Trados that I do not know about. I had to press the fix document button several times, could this be it? I have Word 2007.

All help appreciated.

Many thanks,

Kate

Direct link Reply with quote

Luisa Ramos, CT  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:54
Member (2004)
English to Spanish
Use TagEditor Apr 5, 2011

Take a one hour rest and read the TagEditor section in the Trados manual. Pay special attention to the flowchart that shows you what to do if you wish to save the file as bilingual.

Do not work on Word. Open the Workbench, open the TagEditor function of Trados, and open the file.

If it is your first time using TagEditor, be very careful with all the tags (symbols, characters, etc.) that you will see; all those control the formatting. For me, the best way is to copy the segment from source, and then replace the text portion observing the location of the tags and trying to maintain it.

----

If you do not feel comfortable trying new stuff in the middle of a job, pay attention because some things Trados will not do automatically. Watch if the text font changes when you type on the target segment. Sometimes when that happens I copy the source, position the cursor at the beginning of the target segment, delete the text, and translate. Alternatively, you may print the translated document, print the original, compare them, reopen the document and fix any differences.

Kate White
United Kingdom
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER