Is SDL Trados really so good?
Thread poster: xxxManticore

xxxManticore  Identity Verified

Local time: 13:21
English to German
+ ...
Apr 7, 2011

Dear friends

I just installed a trial version of SDL Trados 2009. - I have been using Apples, PC's, Linux for many years. I designed the first Flash web site in South Africa. I only want to say that I am not a beginner.

With SDL Trados I feel like a beginner again. First, I don't know the purpose of their menus, buttons etc. Your have to switch forward, backward etc. This GUI is totally confusing. You have to worry more about the software than your translations.

How did SDL Trados get into that commanding position. This almost reminds of VHS beating Beta, although Sony's system was far superior.

What do you think?

Roy OConnor
German to English
It's a mean machine! Apr 7, 2011

As a programmer yourself I think you might be able to see where the main problem with Trados and with many other CAT tools lies. Trados deals with a wide variety of input types and seeks to provide a wide variety of features. That is why you need all the controls. It's no different from sitting in a car, truck or the cockpit of an aircraft. It is all very bewildering at first sight and not for the faint at heart.

Of course, the difficulty is that with so many interactions taking place within the software lots of testing is necessary to make sure there are no conflicts. Many might say that Trados Studio was released too early and there is a feeling that it is still under development. But this seems to be the way most modern software is sold – underdeveloped with subsequent service packs.

I found the different interface of Trados Studio a bit strange at first and have been plagued by the odd bug or two, but I now find I can use it very efficiently. You just have to learn how to use it, that's all.

Alistair Ian Spearing Ortiz  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
Bloatware Apr 7, 2011