Trados Studio 2009: "Apply Translation" strips formatting of target text
Thread poster: Harold Abilock
Harold Abilock
Harold Abilock  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:26
Member (2018)
Japanese to English
Apr 8, 2011

I am a Japanese-English translator. When translating, I sometimes apply formatting to the target English text that does not exist in the source Japanese text. For example, consider the following pair:

Japanese: 椅子1は、座席10と、背もたれ11と、足12とを備えている。

English: A chair 1 comprises a seat 10, a backrest 11, and legs 12.

Note that the numeric symbols are boldfaced
... See more
I am a Japanese-English translator. When translating, I sometimes apply formatting to the target English text that does not exist in the source Japanese text. For example, consider the following pair:

Japanese: 椅子1は、座席10と、背もたれ11と、足12とを備えている。

English: A chair 1 comprises a seat 10, a backrest 11, and legs 12.

Note that the numeric symbols are boldfaced in the target E text but not in the source J text. If I translate the above sentence so that it is stored in my translation memory and subsequently translate another patent document with the same source J text, both the source J text and the target E text (with the boldface tags properly included) appear in the Editor search window.

However, when I Apply Translation (Ctrl-T), the target E text is brought into the translation document as plain text without the boldface formatting. Is there anyway to set Trados 2009 so that it does not strip the formatting? Or do I have to go back to using Trados 2007 (which does not strip the formatting)?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Best regards,
Harold
Collapse

RWS Community
RWS Community
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:26
English
Not sure why... Apr 8, 2011

Hi Harold,

I tried to repro your problem but as you can see here the tags are recalled correctly:

Maybe you have an alternate translation that doesn't have the tags in your TM and then you are applying the tranlsation against this one?