"Clean and unclean Trados files" - What does this mean?
Thread poster: Ashley Wans

Ashley Wans  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 13:26
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 8, 2011

Hello,

An agency that I am freelancing for has requested I return translations for several documents in "clean and unclean Trados files". I am relatively new to using Trados. What does this mean?

Your help is greatly appreciated in figuring this out.

Direct link Reply with quote

Oliver Walter  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:26
Member (2005)
German to English
+ ...
Unclean and Clean = bilingual and monolingual Apr 8, 2011

Ashley Wans wrote:
Hello,
An agency that I am freelancing for has requested I return translations for several documents in "clean and unclean Trados files". I am relatively new to using Trados. What does this mean?
Your help is greatly appreciated in figuring this out.

I use Wordfast which has exactly the same concept of Clean and Unclean. (In fact, Trados can"clean up" unclean files from wordfast.)
An "unclean" file is the document immediately after you have translated it: it contains both the source segments and your translation, marked by having different attributes and enclosed by special short character strings to label the source segments and the target segments.
A "clean" file is made from the unclean one (it's safer to keep a separate copy and clean it, so you still have the unclean one. Example: my unclean files are usually called
something-EnU.doc
and the cleaned copy is called
something-En.doc )