Scanned PDF File - Do I have to copy this to Word?
Thread poster: Ashley Wans

Ashley Wans  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:19
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 9, 2011

Hi all,

I am new to Trados, and have several projects that are scanned into PDFs that the client has requested in clean and unclean Trados files. Is there any way to get Trados to read the documents, or do I need to type the source text into Word? I have tried adjusting the Project Settings, but in the editing screen it still only shows the file name and will not load any of the actual document.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. I am looking through the "Help" section on PDFs to try to find more info on this.

Direct link Reply with quote

Manuela Ribecai  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 11:19
Member (2010)
English to French
+ ...
You can use an OCR software Apr 9, 2011

I don't use Trados, but you don't have to retype everything.
At worst, if Trados doesn't recognize the pdf documents, you can, using an OCR (Omnipage, for example), convert your PDF documents into .doc which they'll be recognized by Trados.

Hoping to have you helped, despite my miserable English,

Manuela

United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Your English is great. Apr 9, 2011

Manuela R wrote:

I don't use Trados, but you don't have to retype everything.
At worst, if Trados doesn't recognize the pdf documents, you can, using an OCR (Omnipage, for example), convert your PDF documents into .doc which they'll be recognized by Trados.

Hoping to have you helped, despite my miserable English,

Manuela

Thanks-- I was actually just discovering this answer via some Google as you mentioned it.

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
A word of warning Apr 9, 2011

When you convert from PDF to Word using ocr - and you want to process the file later in Tag Editor or Studio - you must be careful to get rid of unnecessary tags that are created in the process.