Undeletable (HTML?) tags in Word doc, what to do about them?
Thread poster: FreeHansje

FreeHansje  Identity Verified
Local time: 02:41
Dutch to English
+ ...
May 18, 2011

Hi there,
I am a newbie with Trados. I bought and downloaded Studio 2009 SP3 and installed it. I have been playing with the trial version and felt rather confident working with the editor. But now...

I received a word doc, which is converted from a PDF I am told. When I opened it with Trados 2009 SP3 the source was full of tags, basically about fonts used, spacing and such. At some places each letter was enclosed in tags! Also some letters from words which are perfectly visibl
... See more
Hi there,
I am a newbie with Trados. I bought and downloaded Studio 2009 SP3 and installed it. I have been playing with the trial version and felt rather confident working with the editor. But now...

I received a word doc, which is converted from a PDF I am told. When I opened it with Trados 2009 SP3 the source was full of tags, basically about fonts used, spacing and such. At some places each letter was enclosed in tags! Also some letters from words which are perfectly visible in the doc when opened with Word (2010), but in Trados they seem to have disappeared. This was unworkable and I tried to get rid of these tags.
First I looked at Format>Tag Display Editor, but this was already set to show no tags. Changing this would to a higher level cluttered the source (and target) even more!
Next I looked into file type for Word, but I can't find what I could try here to get rid of these tags.

Questions:
Does this sound familiar? It could be a result from the conversion process, but I tried a few other Word docs, and some of them showed the same clutter, although far less then this specific doc. Other Word docs showed no clutter. I have tried to open a few other files, but nothing like that here.