Off topic: is there a way to change language of the source text from US English to UK English?
Thread poster: Nihal Sen

Nihal Sen
United States
Local time: 06:32
English to Turkish
+ ...
May 26, 2011

Hi,

I am a freelancer and currently I am working on a project from English to Turkish. I have selected the source text as US English and now the Client rejects my translation because the language of the source text sould have been UK English - I was not told so until after i deliver the translation.

If I create a UK English database, I need to retranslate from the beginning and I could not find a way to somehow copy the translation from the US database to the UK databas
... See more
Hi,

I am a freelancer and currently I am working on a project from English to Turkish. I have selected the source text as US English and now the Client rejects my translation because the language of the source text sould have been UK English - I was not told so until after i deliver the translation.

If I create a UK English database, I need to retranslate from the beginning and I could not find a way to somehow copy the translation from the US database to the UK database. Does anyone know how to do this kinds of stuff?

I appreciate your help.

Best,

Nihal.
Collapse

Michal Glowacki  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 12:32
Member (2010)
English to Polish
+ ...
Notepad May 26, 2011

If you're using Trados 2007:

TM:
1. Export the TM into any format (TXT or TMX) and open it in Notepad.
2. Search for "EN-US" and replace with "EN-GB" (please search for exactly "EN-US", including the " ")
3. Create a new TM in Workbench with the proper languages and import the file.

If the file was TTX, do the same - open it in notepad and search and replace "EN-US" for "EN-GB".

If you're using Trados 2009 the procedure should be large
... See more
If you're using Trados 2007:

TM:
1. Export the TM into any format (TXT or TMX) and open it in Notepad.