Is it possible to use Tag editor and Trados studio at the same time?
Thread poster: Valentina Cafiero

Valentina Cafiero  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 13:39
Member (2005)
Spanish to Italian
+ ...
Jun 5, 2011

Dear All,

I am new at Trados Studio 2009. I received a project from a new customer who asked me to use trados studio 2009 and sent me just a Project Package which I opened with Trados Studio and started to translate, but he asked me also to use tag editor for this project and to follow the TM settings.
How is it possible to use tag editor and trados studio at the same time?
Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Regards,

Valentina

Martina-K  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:39
Italian to German
+ ...
Translation of ttx file using Studio 2009 Jun 5, 2011

Dear Valentina,

I am using Trados 2007 for quite a while now and recently attended a training course on Studio 2009. According to the trainer, it is not possible to use TagEditor together with Studio 2009 but you can translate the ttx file (created in Trados 2007 + TagEditor) with Studio 2009 by simply opening the ttx file in your project. It is converted into a *.sdlxliff file. Once you are finished with the translation you create the bilingual ttx file by using File - Save target
... See more
Dear Valentina,

I am using Trados 2007 for quite a while now and recently attended a training course on Studio 2009. According to the trainer, it is not possible to use TagEditor together with Studio 2009 but you can translate the ttx file (created in Trados 2007 + TagEditor) with Studio 2009 by simply opening the ttx file in your project. It is converted into a *.sdlxliff file. Once you are finished with the translation you create the bilingual ttx file by using File - Save target as.
Important 1: the original ttx file is overwritten when saving as target so you may want to keep a copy of it in a different folder.