Trados Studio 2009 autosuggest dictionaries
Thread poster: Richard Hill

Richard Hill  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 23:21
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
Jul 13, 2011

Hi. I am new to trados and trying to test the autosuggest dictionary function. I downloaded the European Union AutoSuggest dictionary (English US - Spanish), and can't open it because the "source culture is different from the language pair". I read that it's possible to create one's own dictionary but no explanation was give as to how to do so. I also downloaded the EU DGT TM and managed to change the language codes in the tmx file to fit my language pair (ES-MX EN-US) and was wondering if I can do something similar with the bpm file? Or would somebody be so kind as to post the instructions as to how to create an autosuggest dictionary from the tmx file itself or from an SDLTM file?

Direct link Reply with quote

Umang Dholabhai  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 09:51
English to Gujarati
+ ...
Generate Autosuggest Jul 13, 2011

Once you have the sdltm it is easy to do it

Tools>Generate Autosuggest dictionary>(wizard opens)select the sdltm file from it's location>click Next>Select the appropriate language pair>Click Next>Click Finish

NB: Minimum 25000 TU's are required for generating the dictionary.

[Edited at 2011-07-13 08:10 GMT]

Mexico
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER
thanks Umang Jul 13, 2011

I appreciate your response. I managed to do as you said and to change the language codes.
regards
rich

Stefano Nicola D'Amato  Identity Verified
Spanish to English
+ ...
How did you change .bpm to .sdltm? Jul 13, 2011

Hola Rich,

I saw your post which prompted me to download the AutoSuggest dictionary (EN-ES).

Can you tell me how you converted it from the .bpm to .sdltm?

All of this is very new to me as well.

Saludos,

Stefano

Mexico
Member (2011)
Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER
Sure Jul 14, 2011

Stefano D'Amato wrote:

Hola Rich,