Ligia Dias Costa  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 04:56
Member (2008)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jul 18, 2011

Hi all,

I am not a Trados user. I am a wordfast pro and classic user. I translated a few files with WF and have the bilingual doc files. Now, the client has asked me for bilingual ttx files. Can someone explain to me how to do this?

I have windows 7.

Thanks a million!

Lígia

Direct link Reply with quote

Adam Łobatiuk  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 05:56
Member (2009)
English to Polish
+ ...
You need Trados Jul 18, 2011

I would suggest opening and saving your source Doc files in Tag Editor. Then you can translate the TTX files in Wordfast Pro (reportedly, because I haven't done that myself) using your TM. There will probably be some differences due to segmentation and formatting, but hopefully not a lot.

If you don't have Trados, you can ask someone who does to make TTX files for you (including me). You could probably even use a demo version of SDL Trados 2007 or older if it is still available somewhere.

Ligia Dias Costa  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 04:56
Member (2008)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks! Jul 19, 2011

I have the ttx original files. The thing is that when I open them in WF CLassic, it tells me they should be segmented in Trads in order to be opened in WF.

Any thoughts?

Thanks, again!

Ligia

Nicolas Coyer  Identity Verified
Colombia
Local time: 23:56
Spanish to French
+ ...
from another discussion... Jul 19, 2011

Have you tried this solution?
http://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/124721-is_it_possible_to_convert_a_bilingual_doc_into_a_ttx.html

Nicolas

Poland
Member (2009)
English to Polish
+ ...
ttxpress Jul 19, 2011

As far as I remember, TTXexpress is a word macro that requires Trados to be installed. To presegment TTX files, you need to pretranslate them with Trados Workbench. Again, you can ask someone to do that for you.

Jorge Payan  Identity Verified
United States