Deactivation without notice
Thread poster: Mathieu Jacquet

Mathieu Jacquet  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 03:47
English to French
Jul 19, 2011

Dear all,

I have been using SDL 2007 freelance since 2007.

I bought it through a group deal on Proz.com.

Last week, when trying to open it, I got a message saying that my product, which was installed and activated on my new PC last year cannot run anymore, not before being activated (???). But activation is impossible, since it is said to be installed on two other PCs, which is not the case.

Now I cannot use it anymore, and cannot call the SDL support neither, since I have not subscribed any support services contract with SDL. I am stuck with a paid product that I cannot use.

Has any of you experienced this kind of problem?

Thank you in anticipation,
Mathieu.

P.S.: I got my gmail account (which includes SDL password/license number, etc. hacked two weeks ago from China, do not know if it is related)

Direct link Reply with quote

Piotr Bienkowski  Identity Verified
Poland
Member (2005)
English to Polish
+ ...
It is very likely that it is related Jul 19, 2011

Mathieu Jacquet wrote:

P.S.: I got my gmail account (which includes SDL password/license number, etc. hacked two weeks ago from China, do not know if it is related)

It is very likely that it is related. Too bad if you used a password in your gmail account which is vulnerable to dictionary attack (i.e. a real word)

Not sure if reporting the data theft to the police will help, but even sure I think you should try. The more so that somebody stole your license key or number and sold it to somebody else.

Are you able to log in into your account at SDL where you can view your license status?

Regards,

Piotr

France
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
Maybe a LAN problem Jul 19, 2011

Another clue: I brought my laptop back to my office last week.