Never buy Trados 2009
Thread poster: Macaron

Macaron
Local time: 22:33
English to French
Aug 8, 2011

I was a happy freelance translator using SDLX 2005, and now I am a very poor and frustrated freelance translator trying to use Trados Studio 2009! the enhancements promised are nothing new, almost all features were already there in 2005 version, and many very useful features have disappeared. Support takes days to get(after paying another $200), and working with this system is so complicated that you get nuts. I am loosing days of work, cannot deliver translations : awful.

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 05:33
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Why not continue with SDLX? Aug 8, 2011

If you have Studio, you will also have a license for SDLX.

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:33
Member (1970)
English
Sorry to hear this... Aug 8, 2011

Hi Macaron,

Can you give me your case numbers, or explain the problem so we can try to help? Feel free to email me if you like?

Regards

Paul
pfilkin@sdl.com

esperantisto  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:33
Member (2006)
English to Russian
+ ...
So, why did you upgrade? Aug 8, 2011

Macaron wrote:

I was a happy freelance translator using SDLX 2005

If you were, why did you upgrade actually? Never fix what ain’t broken!

Rafael Bordabehere (X)  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 23:33
English to Spanish
+ ...
Never felt so frustrated with a software before ... Aug 8, 2011

like I did with Trados 2009.

But most of all, I never felt so lonely when it comes to seeking for help.

We are not technicians - we are translators. If we were to fix all the problems (or major problems) by ourselves, we better became software developers and program installers instead.

Yes ... awful!

Rafael.

[Editado a las 2011-08-08 17:32 GMT]

Eileen Cartoon  Identity Verified
Italian to English
As a previous SDLX user Aug 8, 2011