Can't export to PDF in Trados 2009 SP3
Thread poster: Hoa Hoang

Hoa Hoang  Identity Verified
Vietnam
English to Vietnamese
+ ...
Aug 17, 2011

Hello everyone!

I am new to Trados 2009 and is still struggling with it in various aspects. So today I have a favour to ask of you.

A new client sent me Trados 2009 packages .sdlppx to work on SP3. My Trados works fine until I have to export the file to its native file format. The file extension is ...pdf.sdlxliff, but when I do the exporting the target file is corrupted and won't open in Adobe. I try an alternative method which is "Save target as", but in the name fi
... See more
Hello everyone!

I am new to Trados 2009 and is still struggling with it in various aspects. So today I have a favour to ask of you.

A new client sent me Trados 2009 packages .sdlppx to work on SP3. My Trados works fine until I have to export the file to its native file format. The file extension is ...pdf.sdlxliff, but when I do the exporting the target file is corrupted and won't open in Adobe. I try an alternative method which is "Save target as", but in the name field of the save-as box I see .doc extension, not .pdf. Anyone can shed light on this problem for me? I don't know what else to do, and my client insists that the native file format is .pdf, not .doc.

Thank you a lot in advance!

[Edited at 2011-08-17 04:34 GMT]

[Edited at 2011-08-17 04:36 GMT]
Collapse

Joakim Braun  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 10:56
German to Swedish
+ ...
I wonder if it's even possible Aug 17, 2011

If Trados can export a PDF translation preserving its original layout, automatically dealing with all text reflow, hyphenation and text wrap issues that result from the translated text being different in length and language, preserving the original page design while fitting in all text - well, then Trados is quite an application.

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (1970)
English
Using PDF Aug 17, 2011

Hi Hoa,