https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/20724-how_to_create_a_target_file_for_the_trados_source_files_i_have.html

How to create a target file for the Trados source files I have?
Thread poster: Tamara Zahran
Tamara Zahran
Tamara Zahran  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:55
English to Arabic
Apr 28, 2004

I'm new to TRADOS, and I've been asked to provide translation from English into Arabic using trados. How do I create a target file for the Trados source files I have?

Dorothee Racette (X)
Dorothee Racette (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:55
German to English
+ ...
View the intro material on the installation CD Apr 28, 2004

The Trados installation CD has several useful intro sequences for working with the software. A lot of your questions will probably be answered once you have looked at those explanations.

HTH
Dorothee

Sami Khamou
Sami Khamou  Identity Verified
Member (2002)
English to Arabic
+ ...
Preparing target document by using Trados Jul 5, 2004

Assuming you have prepared both Trados and Word to work together, you can start the translation process by first organizing your word files. This is what I usually do. You can do the same or follow your own design:

1- I open a new folder for the project.

2- Inside the new folder I open two separate folders
a- Source file - I copy the original file here.
b- Target file - I open the source file and resave it as RTF in the target folder which can be handled eas
... See more
Assuming you have prepared both Trados and Word to work together, you can start the translation process by first organizing your word files. This is what I usually do. You can do the same or follow your own design:

b- Target file - I open the source file and resave it as RTF in the target folder which can be handled easily by Trados.

3. Open the Multiterm.

4. So now you have three applications open at the same time, Word, Trados & Multiterm.

5. In Trados, I open a new memory file.