https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/208133-how_to_open_a_tm_in_sdl_trados_studio_2009.html

How to open a TM in SDL Trados Studio 2009?
Thread poster: Malgoldberg
Malgoldberg
Malgoldberg
United States
Local time: 22:20
Member (2006)
English to Polish
+ ...
Sep 21, 2011

I am new to Trados. I am using SDL Trados Studio 2009. I have just received my first TTX project - a TTX file and TM. I am supposed to open this TM. Unfortunately, I don't know how to do it. Could you hepl me please?

Berenice Font
Berenice Font  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 21:20
Member (2010)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Opening a TM Sep 21, 2011

Hi!
I have been using it for a while now and I am certified in level one. Hopefully I can guide you though this.

I would say first of all you need to have your TM saved in a folder from where Trados will open it.
Then you should go to "translation memories" on your left menu bar. Then on the top you will see "open Translation memories". Click on that and it will ask you to select the location where you had previously saved this TM.
If you can't see it, try chan
... See more
Hi!
I have been using it for a while now and I am certified in level one. Hopefully I can guide you though this.

I would say first of all you need to have your TM saved in a folder from where Trados will open it.
Then you should go to "translation memories" on your left menu bar. Then on the top you will see "open Translation memories". Click on that and it will ask you to select the location where you had previously saved this TM.
If you can't see it, try changing the file extension until you can see it. click on it and it will open.

Hope this helps! good luck!
Collapse

Jerzy Czopik
Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:20
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
If the TM has the extension tmw, upgrade it Sep 21, 2011

Use Tools - Upgrade Translation memories.
If the extension is TMX, create a new TM and import the TMX there.