Thread poster: Annie Batten

Annie Batten  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 17:08
French to English
+ ...
Oct 14, 2011

Hi everyone,

I'm just wondering whether anyone can clarify a couple of things for me. I'm still a student but have purchased SDL Trados Studio 2011 with my meagre savings and am now trying to learn to use it. I have downloaded Multiterm but am unsure about how to create termbases/add new terms.

This will certainly seem like a very thick question but how do I add terms I have found on a glossary available on the internet, for example http://www.cedefop.europa.eu/EN/Files/4064_en.pdf which has some useful education-related terms for me? It doesn't appear to be possible to cut and paste into Multiterm so is the only way to enter these terms to manually type in each one? Since I'm totally new to Trados/Multiterm I obviously don't have any data in it so I'm wondering how I start to build up termbases that may of use as I start to use Trados to translate documents?

Apologies again for this terribly basic question, I would be grateful for any advice as am totally lacking in knowledge of CAT tools.

Many thanks

Louisa

Direct link Reply with quote

Isabelle Derson  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
clue Oct 15, 2011

Hi Louisa,

just a clue : you should look in the Multiterm Convert help (part of the package)

I don't think you can directly convert PDF, but maybe other file formats(like xls)

[Modifié le 2011-10-16 06:53 GMT]

Miguel Carmona  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:08
English to Spanish
First step: put it in table format Oct 15, 2011

annielou wrote:

Hi everyone,

I'm just wondering whether anyone can clarify a couple of things for me. I'm still a student but have purchased SDL Trados Studio 2011 with my meagre savings and am now trying to learn to use it. I have downloaded Multiterm but am unsure about how to create termbases/add new terms.