Why no "Smart Cutting and Pasting" like in Word?
Thread poster: Akke Wagenaar

Akke Wagenaar  Identity Verified
Senegal
Local time: 12:46
Member (2011)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Oct 19, 2011

Dear Trados developers/product team and co-proz.commers,

I am new with SDL Trados (2009->2011) since a couple of months and already happily using the software, discovering the endless possibilities for more speed and better quality of my translations.

That said, I would like to give you a couple of observations:
-the Option Smart Cutting & Pasting, as it is called in Word, allows me to quickly change word orders in sentences. It's an option I often use because Dutch has a much different word order than English, French and German, for example. So I have to correct the word order in nearly every pre-translated (TM/AT) segment in order to get a good writing style. And the fastest way to do that is to drag and drop the misplaced word, but when I do that in Trados, the word is glued to the previous word .... aaaarrrrggghhh!!!

WHY oh WHY, SDL Trados?

It can't be that difficult to integrate this Option, only one of many features * that make working in Word like driving a luxury Mercedes and make working in Trados Studio like ... riding a horsewagon! **

*(The other features Trados is missing that Word has are, amongst many: in Word I can quickly zoom in/out my view, change fonttype and size, background color - not everybody has good eyes - , the place on my screen where I work (I prefer the left center on my rather wide laptop screen, but in Trados it's in the lower right corner of the screen where the cursor has to go and my neck is aching terribly. In short THE AWKWARD AND UNERGONOMIC INTERFACE DESIGN of SDL Trados Studio. But I will make separate postings for all those items because maybe they can be adapted but I haven't found out how yet.)
**In the evening my eyes, back and neck are sore after a day of working in SDL Trados. Not so in Word.

Direct link Reply with quote