SDL Trados Starter Edition: is it enough for a beginner?
Thread poster: PGarciaJones

PGarciaJones  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
Oct 27, 2011

Hi everyone,

I have recently started off as a full-time freelancer and have never used TRADOS before. From what I gathered from the online demo, it looks like it will take me a while to get the hang of it (I am not a techie by any stretch of the imagination).

I was wondering what your thoughts were about the Starter Edition 2011. On the website, it says that it is a scaled down version of the regular one but in terms of cost, it is significantly cheaper. I know that using TRADOS is a must for translators these days and that I should view it as an investment for the future but do you think the Starter version would be enough to begin with? Would it be good enough to tackle most translation assignments and to get familiarised with the software?

Any suggestions and comments would be much welcomed.

Many thanks,

Paula

Direct link Reply with quote

Helmaninquiel
Local time: 13:13
English to Spanish
+ ...
Some important functions missing (for me) Oct 28, 2011

Well, it depends.
As far as I can see, the TM size is limited to 5,000 translation units. If you are creating your own memory, probably that wont be a problem, but if you are sent a big TM...
And there is no option to work with Trados bilingual files (bad if you are requested to deliver clean and unclean files).
You cant convert translation memories into .SDLTM...
And you cant't convert excel glossaries into Multiterm ones or feed glossaries.
But this is something you have to think by yourself, because maybe you are not interested in working with terminology or are used to work with Excel glossaries. Or maybe you don't need to deliver unclean files...

[Edited at 2011-10-28 10:32 GMT]

PGarciaJones  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks... Oct 28, 2011