Thread poster: Steve Melling
Steve Melling  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 08:00
French to English
+ ...
Nov 4, 2011

Dear all,

I am a complete CAT Tool novice but the market seems to be squeezing out those translators without one.

I have seen SDL Trados 2011 with and without 2007 Suite.

Would those people who know about the subject please let me know their feelings on whether the 2007 Suite is a must and why?

Many thanks,

Steve

Direct link Reply with quote

Kate Chaffer
Italy
Italian to English
Look down a couple of posts Nov 4, 2011

http://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/210263-trados_studio_2011_freelance_with_or_without_2007.html

France
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you. Nov 4, 2011

Thank you Kate,

I feel a bit silly now.

Find it all rather confusing. As a matter of interest, do you have an opinion on the subject, please?

Many thanks,

Steve

Per Magnus  Identity Verified
English to Norwegian
You do not need it. Nov 4, 2011

Since you are a novice, you don’t need 2007. That is a completely different program and you only need it if you are working with clients that require it (or if that is the environment you prefer (but since you have no experience with it, you don’t want it)).

With 2011 the necessary components to open TTX, upgrade legacy TMs and run WinAlign is bundled with the software. If you had Studio 2009, you would need 2007 to do these things.

[Edited at 2011-11-04 15:49 GMT]

[Edited at 2011-11-04 15:50 GMT]

NR_Stedman  Identity Verified
France
French to English
You may need 2007 Nov 4, 2011

Hi Steve

When clients ask for Trados they tend to mean Trados 2007 rather than Trados studio.
In fact one major provider specifically asks that you do not use studio because of the problems with tags. They are two completely different types of software and I'm not at all sure that Trados Studio will become very widely used - certainly not like Trados 2007.