SDL Trados, txt file
Thread poster: Livia Dosa

Livia Dosa  Identity Verified
Hungary
Local time: 20:40
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Nov 18, 2011

I have received a txt file to be translated - in Trados 2007.
This is my first time I'm working with this type of file, I just would like to ask for opinions, has anyone translated a file with this extension? What about the final file, could you get a txt file as "end product"?
Isn't it better to ask for in another format?
Sorry if my questions seem a little "amateur" but I just want to make sure if that works well.
Cheers and thanks!

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Not enough information Nov 18, 2011

What was the source format? Is this an exported Pagemaker document?
If this is just a plain TXT file without anything else, just open it in Word, save as doc and process this doc file. When done, save as TXT from Word.

FarkasAndras
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Why would you do that? Nov 18, 2011

Txt is the most simple, most basic, most problem-free text file format there is. If it's just text, copy-paste it to an empty doc file as suggested by Jerzy so that you can process it with workbench. If it contains tags (gibberish in <angle brackets>) and not just plain text, you'll have to do further research.

Hungary
English to Hungarian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
txt file in Trados Nov 19, 2011

Dear András,
In principle, I would not have any problems in translating it just turned out to have a really weird outlook, that's why I had my doubts. The material is basically tons of "customized multi-level Bill of Ladings", and its format makes this confusion. With .doc file, I can import it into Trados, just looks horrible. I'll talk to the Client.
Jerzy, once again, thanks for your help!

Alexandre Maricato
Brazil
Local time: 15:40
English to Portuguese
Maybe a file that has been converted into txt? Nov 21, 2011

Just a question:

Is it possible that this txt have been OCRed from some PDF file?