Thread poster: Maria Helena Brenner-Kelly

Maria Helena Brenner-Kelly
United States
Local time: 09:37
Member (2011)
English to Portuguese
Nov 25, 2011

Hello.

I've received a .ttx file from an agency. The file was created from a Powerpoint presentation, but I don't have access to the source presentation, only to the .ttx file.

When the author wrote the presentation, he broke lines within the text boxes using the Enter key, and therefore created several "paragraphs" within the text box. Each of the "paragraphs"is a different TU in the .ttx file.

Now, I need to join 2 or more segments to create one TU which can be correctly translated to the target language. How can I do that, if Trados doesn't join TUs that are in different paragraphs?

I have Studio 2009 and also Trados 2007, but I am not an expert in any of them. So, a solution in any of these versions will be OK, as long as is written having a newbie user in mindicon_smile.gif

Thanks,

Maria

Grzegorz Gryc  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:37
French to Polish
+ ...
DVX2 or similar... Nov 25, 2011

Maria Helena Brenner-Kelly wrote:

I've received a .ttx file from an agency. The file was created from a Powerpoint presentation, but I don't have access to the source presentation, only to the .ttx file.

When the author wrote the presentation, he broke lines within the text boxes using the Enter key, and therefore created several "paragraphs" within the text box. Each of the "paragraphs"is a different TU in the .ttx file.

Now, I need to join 2 or more segments to create one TU which can be correctly translated to the target language. How can I do that, if Trados doesn't join TUs that are in different paragraphs?

Use DVX2 or similar tool, it joins easily this kind of TTX segments.
A 30 day demo can be downloaded from http://www.atril.com