Doron Greenspan MITI  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 02:54
Member (2005)
English to Hebrew
+ ...
Dec 13, 2011

Hello,

I'm trying to come to grips with my new toy: Studio 2011.
I can handle translating a single file, but now I want to go further and manage my own Studio Projects for my ongoing projects (I'm a freelancer, no packages involved).

So, I used the wizard to create a project, added a couple of .itd files and the TM, and processed the files (analyze, convert to translateable format etc.).
I can see the newly created .sdlxliff files in the target language folder of the new project folder.

Now I'm stuck - I can't work out the most elegant/fast way to open the files for translation...

Again: I don't want to create packages or anything like this - just manage my own projects.

Thanks for any help on this silly situation, Doron

Direct link Reply with quote

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 01:54
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Files view - open for translation Dec 13, 2011

And this way (creating your own project) is the most efficient way to use Studio.
I create a project for anything I get - from the smallest single file to a folder tree. You can merge the files when creating the project, pretranslate them and so on. This is a clear and easy way of working.
Projects view to select the project for now and Files view to open the files. Never use "Open document" to open any files from a project.
The button "Open document" shall be called "Load a document for translation" - because you use it ONLY to start the process. When already started, never use this button to reopen a file which is already being translated on your system. Just go to Files view and open the file from there.
In case your customer is sending you several small files on regular basis you can also create a project for this customer and keep adding the files there as they come. This can be for instance done on monthly/weekly basis.