Beginner question: pre-translating an updated file
Thread poster: Sander Van de Moortel

Sander Van de Moortel  Identity Verified
China
English to Dutch
+ ...
Dec 14, 2011

I am not very experienced with Trados, hence my question here.

I was translating a big file for my client, when half-way an update was sent. This shouldn't pose a problem, I thought, I could pre-translate the updated file using the translation memory built up with the old file. And wherever anything was changed, it would either not translate or give me a below 100% CM. Right? So far the theory. I added the file to the same project as the old file and started.

Quickly I found out that the translation units from the first file hadn't been entered into my translation memory. Fine. I don't know why, but surely using a batch task on my first sdlxdiff should do the trick (update project translation memory, or update main translation memories, or populate translation memories - I don't know the difference so I tried them all)?

Again: no, no new translation units to be found in my TM.

So I cannot run the batch task "pre-translate files" on my updated file either. Well, I can, but as there are no translation units from the previous file, this won't do much good.

What am I doing wrong? How do I efficiently update my TM from a SDLXDIFF file? And what's the difference between the three batch tasks listed above?

Thank you

Direct link Reply with quote

Sam Pinson  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:25
Member (2011)
Russian to English
This is what I would do... Dec 14, 2011

sandervdm wrote:

Quickly I found out that the translation units from the first file hadn't been entered into my translation memory. Fine.

My understanding is that Pre-translating files entirely depends on your translation memory. Thus, if your translation units are not in the TM, then the behavior you are observing make sense.

Do you know why the translation units were not in the TM when you expected them to be?