An error occurred while converting fields back to Microsoft Word
Thread poster: Denise Phelps

Denise Phelps  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:28
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 18, 2011

I'm completely new to CAT tools and Trados studio, but have recently started using Trados studio 2011 freelance. When I tried to save the translation I finished today (source text in Word), the message I've given in the heading appeared, and the translation was not saved (in fact, the source text appeared instead). I've copied and pasted the translation, so it's not a disaster, but I was wondering if anyone could tell me if this is an occasional/common problem with the software, or if I've messed with a parameter that I should have left alone.

Direct link Reply with quote

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Please use the QA checker to show you missing tags Dec 18, 2011

Open your file, press F8.
Browse in the messages windows for messages with "Tag has been deleted".
Double click such message to let the program show you the corresponding segment. Insert all missing tags, save the file and try again.

Denise Phelps  Identity Verified
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Dec 18, 2011

Thanks - as soon as I'd posted I saw someone else had posted exactly the same problem. After the TGB Trados offer, I expect there will be a lot of newbies posting our teething problems. Anyway, your advice has completely solved my problem, and the document is now safely saved in Word format. Many thanks!

Pablo Mones  Identity Verified
Uruguay
Local time: 13:28
Member (2008)
English to Spanish
Same problem... Jan 17, 2012

... but didn't work.

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
What did not work? Jan 17, 2012

Pablo Mones wrote:

... but didn't work.