Struggling with TRADOS settings
Thread poster: PGarciaJones

PGarciaJones  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
Dec 19, 2011

Hi there,

I have recently purchased TRADOS Studio 2011 and I am currently trying to get to grips with how it works (I have never used a CAT tool before so it's uncharted territory for me). I've done a couple of webinars and I seem to be able to grasp the basic functions and features. However, try as I might (and my husband who is far more tech-savvy than I am was unable to help either) I cannot for the life of me install any translation memory (the default printer one is not recognised and likewise with the one recommended by the SDL webinar hosts, My Memory).

Therefore, the term recognition feature does not work and all I get is an 'automated translation' with no matches percentages or term suggestions.

Does anybody have any idea as to why this might be? Is there something that I am missing?

Many thanks in advance.

Paula

Direct link Reply with quote

Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:41
Member (2010)
Spanish to English
Create new TM Dec 19, 2011

There is no point in installing the Printer TM that came as a sample. It will only contain a few terms and is probably not in the right language pair for your project (that's why it won't be recognised).
If you can get the My Memory TM in your language pair then that should work.

However, by far the best idea is to create a new, empty TM of your own by going to the Translation Memories view>file>new>translation memory and follow the wizard.

Then add the new TM to your current project or when you open a new document. Make sure the "update" box is ticked when you add it.

Of course, you won't get any matches to begin with, but in time you will. Term suggestions and Term Recognition, by the way, are different, and come from termbases that you create with MultiTerm.

HTH.

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English
Can you see the sample project... Dec 19, 2011