Basic Translation Memory for TRADOS
Thread poster: Vladislav Kasyan
Vladislav Kasyan
Local time: 08:20
English to Russian
Dec 25, 2011

I recently started studying Trados. So far, I understood very little, but I have a question. When I use Google Translation Toolkit it has make primitive translation of the text, that is Google has his own translation memory, which translates the text completely. When I started working in Trados, I saw that I need to translate the text from beginning to end without any ready translation. My question: Can I download for Trados any open and common translation memory, which would completely translated the text, and then by reference on this translation I can to carry out my detailed translation? If it is possible, how I can to download it? Thank you.

Direct link Reply with quote

Egidijus Slepetys  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:20
German to Lithuanian
No, you can not Dec 25, 2011

10 years ago I also had this dream, when I started using Trados
No, there is no such thing as a "basic translation memory" - you should study the concept of "translation memory" further.
Every translator has his own translation memories.
I personally create a new translation memory for each project.
This is why translators are still needed

Alexandre Maricato
Brazil
Local time: 22:20
Member (2009)
English to Portuguese
No free lunch Dec 25, 2011

If such thing existed, most of us would be probably out of business.

Google has a translation algorithm (maybe it builds some kind of TM from its users inputs, but I am not sure about this, as it would require a huge storage space and processing power, not to mention that searching the whole TM database each time someone wants a translation would make the process increasingly slow).

Also, TMs are valuable assets and the result of our work and the clients' investment. Thus, no one would want to make them available for free.

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:20
English