Thread poster: Claudia Mattaliano

Claudia Mattaliano  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:35
Member (2006)
German to Italian
+ ...
Jan 31, 2012

Hello everybody!

I have been using Studio 2009 for a couple of months now. In December I also attended an online training session on how to upgrade from Trados 2007 to Studio 2009. I am not very convinced of Studio right now. Apart from being incredibly slow in everything, I have a big problem that I don't know how to solve: Studio doesn't recognize matches or repetitions. For example yesterday I had to documents. Part of the second one was identical to the first one, but Studio did not see it, so I had to copy and paste from the target file. Why is this happening? I am sure there is an option somewhere to check, but I don't seem to be able to find it.

I hope someone can help me with this, it's really frustrating.

Thanks a lot!
Claudia

Direct link Reply with quote

Adam Łobatiuk  Identity Verified
Poland
Member (2009)
English to Polish
+ ...
TMs Jan 31, 2012

Hi Claudia,

Your problem is probably related to the mess with TMs that Studio creates. It keeps track of TMs you have used for various language combinations and introduces "project TMs" that some people find useful, but I don't think there are many of them. As a result, I have often ended up using the wrong TM by mistake, and this could be your case. You may have used two different TMs or did not enable a TM for your initial translation.

Member (2006)
German to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you... Feb 1, 2012

... Adam! I noticed what you said and that was happening at the beginning. Now I pay a lot of attention when I open the TM and the problem I have also occurs if I have 100% matches in the same document, so it's not possible that I use the wrong TM.

Any ideas on what's happening?

Thanks a lot!
Claudia

Marina Soldati  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 09:35
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Confirm the segments Feb 1, 2012

Hi Claudia,