Unable to save in Studio 2009 - error message saying could not find file (source docx)
Thread poster: Emily Phillips

Emily Phillips  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:27
Spanish to English
Feb 1, 2012

Hello,

I am new to Trados but I have never had this problem before.

I opened a new file (Word, docx) to work on and saved in in the location I wanted. Everything seemed to be going smoothly until I tried to routinely save my work before leaving my desk and an error message popped up.

It says 'Could not find file NAME OF MY SOURCE DOCUMENT IN WORD'.

How can I make sure that it saves my work?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you,
Emily

Michel de Ruyter  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 02:27
Member (2011)
English to Dutch
+ ...
save file as sdlxliff...and then try again Feb 1, 2012

Just save the file first in the application so it can find the sdlxiff. I believe that will do the job.

Kind regards,
Michel

Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER
that doesn't seem to work! Feb 1, 2012

Hi Michel,

Thanks for your reply! However, when I try to save as SDL XLIFF instead, it still doesn't work. An error message pops up and it says that it is unable to save as a bilingual file as it is unable to find the DOCX file.

Any ideas?

Thanks again,
Emily

Michel de Ruyter  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 02:27
Member (2011)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Hmmm Feb 1, 2012

That's a shame Emily. To be honest my experience with Studio 2009 probably doesn't go a lot further than yours. However, I think it shouldn't be too difficult to solve this but I don't have any other ideas besides that you maybe have to find the exact location of your previously saved document, and make sure your to-be-saved document has exactly the same name. Hopefully then it will say 'do you want to replace...?' or something like that.

Good luck, best, Michel

Giovanni Guarnieri MITI, MIL  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2004)
English to Italian
not 100% sure, but... Feb 1, 2012