Thread poster: ibz

ibz  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:43
Member (2007)
English to German
+ ...
Feb 18, 2012

Dear all,

After many years of translating without using a CAT tool, I'm now thinking about buying Trados Studio 2011 Freelance. However as I'm an addicted Mac user, I have a couple of questions which you might be able to answer.

First of all: I read that Trados can be run on Mac as well, either by using a Boot Camp or Parallels / VMware. I think that the latter would be more convenient but I would like to know about your experiences. Does Trados get too slow if both systems are running or is it no problem?

And then another question: Do you think that Trados is kind of self-explanatory, i.e. that it can be used without attending a training or by referring only to online tutorials? As already said, I'm a beginner (even though I attended a Wordfast training a couple of years ago but this might not help me at all ...).

And then a last question: I have three computers (two iMacs Intel Core 2 Duo, 2,66 GHz, and one Mac Airbook). If I buy Trados, can I then download it to all of them or would I need a second licence? The programme would only be used on one computer at any time, of course.

Thank you very much for your help!
Regards,
Irene

Stephanie Busch  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2010)
English to German
+ ...
My experience of Trados on a Mac Feb 18, 2012

Hi ibz,

I have been running Trados Studio 2009 on an iMac for some time without experiencing major problems. I use Parallels as I want to have access to my Mac programs at the same time.

In any case (Bootcamp or virtual machine), you'll need to have Windows installed.

My iMac has 4 GB of RAM, 2 of which are assigned to the virtual machine. Launching Trados Studio does take some time, but afterwards the program runs smoothly. I don't work with very large files or TMs though.