International Translation Day 2017

Join ProZ.com/TV for a FREE event on September 26-27th celebrating International Translation Day! 50+ hours of content, Chat, Live Q&A & more. Join 1,000's of linguists from around the globe as ProZ.com/TV celebrates International Translation Day.

Click for Full Participation

Removing duplicate entries from termbase
Thread poster: Yaniv Moshkovitz

Yaniv Moshkovitz  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 16:22
Member (2014)
Arabic to English
+ ...
Feb 21, 2012

Hello,
I'm using SDL MultiTerm 2011. I have a termbase with duplicate entries due to several import attempts. Here is what I did in order to try to remove them:
1. Exported the termbase to a tab-delimited text file, which I then opened on Excel. Here each entry appeared only once.
2. Used MultiTerm Convert to turn the Excel file to an mtf file.
3. Created a new Termbase.
4. Imported the entries from the mtf file.

Even though each entry appeared just once in the excel file from Step 1, when I opened the new termbase I saw the duplicate entries again.

What should I do?

Thanks

Direct link Reply with quote

Sandra& Kenneth  Identity Verified
Israel
Member (2009)
French to English
+ ...
Use MT Feb 21, 2012

I don't understand why you did what you did.
Open MultiTerm, load your termbase. Browse the terms, find the duplicates, right click, press Delete.
HTH

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:22
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
Default import definition will always import duplicates Feb 21, 2012

You must write a new import definition and synchronize the export on entries, then chose synchronize on your main (source language) and define what to do with already existing entries.

@Sangro: Why not in MT? Because if you have many duplicates it is a long lasting work...

FarkasAndras
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Sure? Feb 21, 2012

Yaniv Moshkovitz wrote: