Problems with Studio 2011 settings after downloading SP1
Thread poster: PGarciaJones

PGarciaJones  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
Feb 27, 2012

Hi,

I am new to Trados (I've got Studio 2011) and have been trying to get to grips with it in the last few days as it looks like I will need to use it soon for an upcoming project.

I have watched several video tutorials and followed the start-up guides to the letter after downloading SP1 as requested. However, and after several failed attempts at creating a new termbase and importing one through the Termbase Wizard (from what I've read, I should be able to get the SDL Multiterm 2001 SP1 and SDL Multiterm IX (version 6.x), I keep getting the following error message: "Object reference not set to an instance of an object". I've done a search online but this error is quoted on many instances but not on this one in particular. Any idea as to how to resolve it?

Also, I have tried to download the Autosuggest Dictionary English-Spanish from SDL downloads page. I get a WinRAR folder with a bpm file but when I try to save it, I get the following message: "Cannot create eu-en-es-en-us-es.bpm. Access is denied". Any assistance or guidance would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Paula

Jerzy Czopik  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:25
Member (2003)
Polish to German
+ ...
MT iX was never a part of Studio Feb 27, 2012

PGarciaJones wrote:

Hi,

I am new to Trados (I've got Studio 2011) and have been trying to get to grips with it in the last few days as it looks like I will need to use it soon for an upcoming project.