Thread poster: xxxStrastran
xxxStrastran
France
Local time: 11:13
French to English
+ ...
Feb 29, 2012

Hello all

I've translated a file in Studio 2011, but my customer only has Studio 2009. They are able to open and modify the .sdlxliff file, but cannot create a Target file from it.

They had to send their updated .sdlxliff file back to me along with a TM export, so I could open it in 2009 as if beginning a new project, process all segments and create a Target file.

Is there a way around this? At the moment it seems that, because my customers have 2009, there was no point in my upgrading to 2011 as it will only create extra work for me. So I may have to go back to using 2009.

I find it hard to believe that there are compatibility issues with target files, but I am very new to 2011 and am yet to take training on it so I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

SDL Community  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English
The way around it.. Feb 29, 2012

... is to create a package for 2009 and then the 2011 user will be able to handle it. Or as you have discovered, ask your customer to prepare the file and then you translate their sdlxliff. Clearly you won't be able to do this unless you have the Professional version.

The problem will be there because the sdlxliff will have been prepared using a different version of the filetype than they have so when 2009 tries to reassemble the target it cannot find the appropriate filetype to do the work.

Maybe another solution is for you to send them the translated sdlxliff for review. They review in Studio and send it back and then you create the final target for them. They will then have the target and can update their TMs from the sdlxliff you sent them.

Regards

Paul

xxxStrastran
France
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Feb 29, 2012

SDL Support wrote: