Studio 2011: problem with tracked changes in a file
Thread poster: susan rose

susan rose  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 08:18
Member (2011)
German to English
Mar 30, 2012

I received an uncleaned bilingual .docx file to proofread in Trados 2011. Sounds easy.

When I try to open the file, I get the error message that I have to accept all changes before Studio can open the file.

I have accepted all changes, saved the file under a different name as a .doc, and it still gives me the same error.

It doesn't show up under legacy files because it only shows up as .doc. I tried the SDL database and they suggest opening under the "Tools" menu because I do not have the option "translate". Do I need to make an .sdlxliff file? I am new to this...

thank you to anyone who has a moment to direct me in the right direction!

Direct link Reply with quote

bohy  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 17:18
English to French
+ ...
"Trados 2011" does not exist Mar 30, 2012

There's no such thing as Trados 2011. There is "SDL Trados Studio 2011" (let's say Studio 2011), and you may have somewhere (if you installed it) SDL Trados 2007 (Trados 2007).
In Studio 2011, a bilingual would be an SDLXLIFF file. So, you're not working with Studio here. Apparently, the translator worked with Trados 2007 (or a compatible tool like WordFast Clasic).
You must have installed Trados 2007 and its Word macros, and then you simply open your document in Word, and use the commands under the "Trados" tab.
BTW, if you have not installed Trados 2007, you may be able to proofread your document directly in Word, but you must be VERY CAREFUL not to delete any of the tags, so if you're a beginner it's rather tricky.

ghislandi  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:18
English to Italian
Info Mar 30, 2012

Hello Susan

I am from SDL

Actually Studio 2011 can open a word bilingual file.

Of course it depends from which tool it was created from.
If it is from Wordfast I don't believe Studio can open it.