how to save unclean xliff files as unclean word docs.
Thread poster: Dr Juliet Attwater

Dr Juliet Attwater
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:34
Member (2010)
Portuguese to English
Apr 17, 2012

Hi, I'm working for a client who wants the unclean xliff files sent to him as a word doc. I have no problem saving the clean translation in this format, but can't seem to find how to do it with the unclean file. I have been using Trados Studio 2009, but will shortly be upgrading to 2011.Any help would be greatly appreciated - even if it's just to tell me I'm trying to do something impossible!Thank you

Direct link Reply with quote

Silvia D'Amico  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:34
English to Italian
+ ...
I am no expert but Apr 17, 2012

I think unless you have a bilingual word file to begin with (already segmented), there is no way for Studio to produce a bilingual Word file. You could however, click Save As and it will generate a Word file with a table: on one side there will be the source language and on the other the target language.

I hope it helps..

Dr Juliet Attwater
United Kingdom
Member (2010)
Portuguese to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Apr 17, 2012

The problem though seems to be that when I click "save as" I cannot save it as a doc file, only as an xliff file! I'm sure I must be missing something here...

Miguel Carmona  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:34
English to Spanish
SDLXLIFF to Legacy Converter Apr 17, 2012

Dr. Juliet Attwater wrote:

Hi, I'm working for a client who wants the unclean xliff files sent to him as a word doc. I have no problem saving the clean translation in this format, but can't seem to find how to do it with the unclean file. I have been using Trados Studio 2009, but will shortly be upgrading to 2011.Any help would be greatly appreciated - even if it's just to tell me I'm trying to do something impossible!Thank you