Studio 2011: unable to do concordance
Thread poster: Noha Kamal, PhD.

Noha Kamal, PhD.  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:41
English to Arabic
+ ...
Apr 23, 2012

Hi again,

I am right in the middle of translating a file, and i needed to run a concordance which I am sure I came across earlier, but when I attempt to run the concordance, it says "No open translation memory." I am not sure what that means. The TM is open and I am translating as we speak!! How can there be no open memory!!
Please advise.

TIA

ahmadwadan.com  Identity Verified
Kuwait
Local time: 22:41
English to Arabic
+ ...
Which version? Apr 23, 2012

- Which Trados version?
- What is your concordance minimum match value?
- What is the file type you translate?

Regards

[Edited at 2012-04-23 09:48 GMT]

English to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Where as the settings? Apr 23, 2012

Morning Ahmad,

It's 2011. And the problem is that I am unable to access the settings of my TM (I am new to 2011 and it is very different from 2007)icon_smile.gif)

Kuwait
English to Arabic
+ ...
It should work as follows Apr 23, 2012

Morning Noha,

- Create project, add file to it and select the appropriate TM if you have more than one.

- Go to "Editor" and open file you want to translate.
- Select text you want to search for and press F3.

There are other longer steps to do the same but I see above is the best (for me at least).

Done.

Regards

[Edited at 2012-04-23 10:09 GMT]

English to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
You are a life saver ya Ahmad Apr 23, 2012

Hehehe, I knew something was missing. The mistake was that I created a TM and started translating right away. I did not create a project. That is why no results were retrieved from the memory and no concordance could be run. Thanks, my friend, I owe you one ;D

Kuwait
English to Arabic
+ ...
Welcome Apr 23, 2012

You are welcome Noha. I understand how much different Studio is! it has a completely new API.

Have a great day!

Alexandre Oberlin  Identity Verified
France